top of page
  • Katya Reimann

Life Bookshelf

It's May. I've written these words before: 'I spend a lot of time thinking about books, writing, and what it means for an artist to have produced more than one, or two, or ten or twenty or forty books.'

I have favorite books. "Favorites." Physical objects. And in this case, where memory of books over time is what's serving me, particular physically typeset objects (and mostly titles more than twenty years old). I've written about some of these favorites here before. Now, as I move to this new platform, I'm taking a moment to visually remind myself of the pleasures I've taken from these books.

A typeset book is not the same as an online edition. It's different, even, from a new form we have now, print-on-demand. A typeset book, from a specific time and place, is something that can be shared in a particular, material, way. Online there is always the unknown of "Have there been invisible corrections, deletions, and updates? Are you and I reading the same text?"

The books below are some of the texts I have known and loved over time. Some I have previously written of here. Some no. But—here's a start: May, 2022. Twenty two books that have meant a lot to me.


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page